The New Brunswick Free Public Library traces its roots back to the 1796 Union Library Company. The present library, incorporated in 1890, has been serving the community for over a century from its Carnegie building (completed in 1903) on Livingston Avenue. To delve a little deeper into the library's history, download this Centennial Tribute pamphlet.
The library expanded in 1990 with the addition of a larger Reference Room and a Community Meeting Room. In 1994, the Children’s Room was expanded and a Storytime Room was added. A new elevator was added in 2002 to provide handicapped access to most of the library and is a convenience for others discouraged by stairs.
The library staff includes more than ten professional librarians, under the direction of a Board of Trustees. Library users can visit during open hours, telephone or email the library with questions, and/or utilize online resources from home.
The library is an electronic doorway while still having a multitude of books, periodicals, and audio/video materials. In addition to online databases, the library has microfilms of New Brunswick newspapers including the Home News from 1783 until today. A digitization project has made many of these newspapers available online. An extensive New Brunswick collection includes maps, reproducible pictures, slides, and pamphlets from New Brunswick and the surrounding communities. Visit the Library Materials page for more information.
The library staff strives to give patrons friendly and professional service so each person leaves the library with what they were looking for, and eager to visit us again. If you would like to make a suggestion or other comment, please fill out a comment form and either mail it in or drop it by the library in person.